BRICS Admits Six New Countries Including Iran, UAE


Share post:

President Cyril Ramaphosa of South Africa and chairman of the 15th BRICS Bloc, while addressing the summit in Johannesburg, mentioned that the six countries were joining the BRICS effective January 1, 2024.

Among the countries that have joined are Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE.

”As the five BRICS countries, we have reached agreement on the guiding principles, standards, criteria, and procedures of the BRICS expansion process, which has been in discussion for quite some time,” Ramaphosa said.

He described BRICS as a heterogeneous group of states and an equal partnership of countries with opposing viewpoints but a common aim for a better world.

“We have reached an agreement on the first phase of this expansion, and further phases will be announced,” he stated.

President Xi Jinping of China said the six countries that have joined them have made history today.

“The expansion also marks a new beginning for BRICS cooperation; it would bring the BRICS cooperation mechanism and enhance the force for global peace and development,” he stated.

BRICS is a grouping of the world economies of Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.

Related articles

Senator Bob Menendez Indictment: Why Uganda, Africa Should Shun Bobi Wine, Similar Politicians

New Jersey Senator Bob Menendez was indicted on September 22, 2023, marking the second time in a decade...

Uganda’s Potential Benefits as Co-Host of AFCON 2027

Uganda is set to host AFCON 2027 alongside Kenya and Tanzania under the Pamoja Bid project, the Confederation...

Pamoja Bid: A Breath of Life to East African Sports

On Wednesday, September 27, 2023, the three East African countries, including Uganda, Kenya, and Tanzania, taped into waves...

CDF Urges Newly Passed-Out Air Force Officers to Uphold Integrity

Gen. Wilson Mbasu Mbadi, the Chief of Defence Forces (CDF), has urged the newly passed-out officers to desist...