Justice Byabakama Reappointed as Electoral Commission Chairperson


Share post:

Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama has been reappointed for a second term as the chairperson of the Uganda Electoral Commission a body that is mandated to conduct and supervise elections in Uganda.

In a letter signed by the appointing authority President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni dated 5th January 2024, Byamukama retained his position as the chairman with Hajjati Aisha Lubega continuing as his deputy Chairperson.

Other commission members include  Kasule Robert Ssebunya, Okello Anthony, Dr. Sallie Simba of Makerere University, Tashobya Stephen, and  Pamela Etonu Okudi making a seven-member team.

The commission’s tenure which expired on 07th January 2024  will now see the appointed team commence their term of office and serve for a 7-year term expiring in 2031 who in-between are expected to organize the 2026 general elections.

Related articles

Understanding Breast Cancer: Symptoms, Risk Factors, and Treatment Options

Breast cancer is a cancer that develops in the cells of the breast. It is the most common...

Uganda Advances Nuclear Energy Strategy with IAEA Support

The Minister of State for Energy Hon. Okaasai Opolot has said that the International  Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)...

Unregistered Engineers Urged to Register as Uganda Marks World Engineering Day

The Chairperson of the Engineers Registration Board (ERB), Isaac Mutenyo, has advised all unregistered engineers to get registered...

Besigye Grappling to Account for Ugx3.8 Billion From Foreign Funders to Form New Political Party

Retired Dr. Colonel Kizza Besigye, four-time presidential candidate and founder of the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), received...