Uganda Cricket Cranes Set Sights on T20 World Cup Qualification


Share post:

The Uganda Cricket Cranes will compete against six other teams for the two slots in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Men’s 2024 T20 World Cup qualifiers in the USA and West Indies.

The team was flagged off on Thursday, November 9, 2023, at the National Council of Sports by NCS Asst. General Secretary David Katende. The tournament is slated for November 20–30, 2023.

Uganda’s opponents include hosts Namibia, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Rwanda, Nigeria, and Kenya.

The tournament will commence on November 22, 2023, but the team leaves early as they will make a stop in Zimbabwe for a 10-day preparatory game against local club Takashinga.

The top two teams at the end of the round-robin format will qualify for the main event of the 20-team tournament in 2024. Namibia and Zimbabwe were both at the 2022 World Cup in Australia and are overwhelming favourites to clinch the two slots.

Coach Jackson Ogwang, who took over as interim head coach after Laurence Mahatlane’s contract elapsed, will take charge of the team for the first time since his appointment in September 2023.

Ogwang said that the team is ready to make Uganda proud.

“The team is ready to make Uganda proud; for the last three years, we have been preparing for this event, and we are certain something has to finally give,” Ogwang said.

He added that the focus might be on getting one over either Zimbabwe or Namibia.

“The focus might be on getting one over either Zimbabwe or Namibia, but as a team, every game is important, and therefore the intensity we play with against Zimbabwe is the same energy we bring for Rwanda. We aim to take care of our business, and fate will decide the rest, but if we play to our potential, we shall be at the World Cup,” he added.

Uganda is ranked 23rd in the global T20 rankings. The 15-man squad will be captained by Brian Masaba.

Full Squad: 1. Brian Masaba ©, 2. Riazat Ali Shah, 3. Kenneth Waiswa, 4. Ronak Patel, 5. Dinesh Nakrani, 6. Simon Ssesazi, 7. Henry Ssenyondo, 8. Frank Nsubuga, 9. Robinson Obuya, 10. David Wabwire, 11. Jonathan Ssebanja, 12. Roger Mukasa, 13. Bilal Hassun, 14. Cyrus Kakuru, 15. Alpesh Ramjani

Team Officials: Jackson Ogwang (Head Coach), Emmanuel Oroma (S&C Coach), Shamim Nassali (Physiotherapist), Tusiime Steven (Team Analyst), Innocent Ndawula (Media Liaison), Charles Waiswa (Team Manager)

Related articles

NUP Officials in Mukono Accuse Supporters who Attended Mpuuga’s Ceremony of “Betrayal,” Threaten Violence

National Unity Platform (NUP) officials in Mukono district have made grave allegations against their own supporters. Accusing them...

Pastor’s Family of Nine Poisoned in Gomba, One Child Dead: Police Investigations Underway

Police in Gomba district are investigating an incident that happened in Buzimba village in Kyegonza Sub County on...

NEMA Plans to Remove More Wetland Invaders to Restore Ecosystems and Safeguard Crucial Environmental Benefits

Barirega Akankwasah, the Director of the National Environmental Management Authority (NEMA), mentioned that they are evicting encroachers to...

Bobi Wine Bashed for Meddling in Kenya’s Affairs Despite Failing Uganda’s Struggle

Netizens have lashed at the leader of the National Unity Platform (NUP), Robert Kyagulanyi, alias Bobi Wine, for...