Somalia Signs Treaty of Accession to Formally Join East African Community


Share post:

The Federal Republic of Somalia has signed the Treaty of Accession to the East African Community (EAC) as its 8th member.

The ceremony took place on December 15, 2023, at State House Entebbe in the presence of the President of Somalia, Hassan Sheikh Mohamud; the President of South Sudan, who chairs the EAC summit, Salva Kiir Mayardit; and the President of Uganda, Yoweri Kaguta Museveni.

The President of Uganda, during the accession, re-echoed the importance of integrating the EAC.

“It is for the prosperity of the African people, strategic security, and the commonalities of the East African people,” President Museveni said.

He thanked the President of South Sudan and the EAC Secretariat for choosing Uganda to host this historic occasion.

Dr. Peter Mathuki, the EAC Secretary-General, supervised the signing and exchange of the treaty of accession.

On November 24, 2023, during the 23rd Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State that took place in Arusha, Tanzania, Somalia became the eighth member state of the East African Community.

Related articles

NUP’s Constant Kidnapping Allegations Regarding Kabaka Affect Visa Renewal by Nambian Government

The National Unity Platform (NUP) leadership and its supporters’ continuous claims that the Ugandan and Nambian governments conspired...

Losing My Purity to One Who Did Not Value It: A Life-Changing Experience 

Growing up sheltered, I thought that having sex meant automatically getting pregnant, which made me jealously guard my...

Planned Violent Demonstrations on July 23: What is Expected from Organizers and Opposition

Considering who the organisers of the planned march to parliament on July 23 are, it is safe to...

NUP Denied Access To Isingiro Rally Venue, Asked To Follow Right Procedures

 National Unity Platform (NUP) president Robert Kyagulanyi has revealed that authorities in Isingiro District have canceled their planned...