Osimhen, Oshoala Reign as Nigerian Stars Sweep CAF Awards 2023


Share post:

Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen has been named the African men’s footballer of the year, while his compatriot, Asisat Oshoala, who plays for Barcelona, claimed the African women’s footballer of the year.

They were named African players of the year on Monday, December 11, 2023, during a ceremony organised by the Conference of Africa Football (CAF) in Marrakesh, Morocco.

Osimhen beat Morocco’s right-back Achraf Hakimi and Egypt’s winger Mohamed Salah to win the award.

Osimhen played 30 matches and scored 26 goals, topping the Serie A scoring charts as he helped Napoli end a 33-year wait for the Italian title last season.

“It is a dream come true. I have to thank everybody who has helped me on this journey and all Africans who have helped to put me on the map despite my faults,” said Osimhen.

The Napoli striker is the first Nigerian player to win the award since Nwankwo Kanu in 1999. Senegal’s Sadio Mané had won the previous two awards, in 2019 and 2022. Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon) and Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast) have each won the award four times.

Oshoala was named the African women’s footballer of the year for a record sixth time. She overcame an injury to assist Nigeria in making it to the round of 16 at the 2023 World Cup, where they lost to England on penalties. Oshoala scored in the 3-2 group stage win over Australia, finding the net for a third consecutive World Cup.

Oshoala won the Women’s Champions League and the Spanish title with Barcelona. Oshoala also claimed the award in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019, and 2022.

All CAF Awards 2023 Winners


Player of the Year: Victor Osimhen, Nigeria

Club Player of the Year: Percy Tau Al Ahly, Egypt

Goolkeeper of the Year: Yassine Bon Bounou, Morocco

Young Player of the Year: Lamine Camara, Senegal

Coach of the Year: Walid Regragui, Morocco

National Team of the Year: Morocco

Club of the Year: Al Ahly Egypt


Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala, Nigeria

Club Player of the Year: Fatima Tagnaout, FAR Rahat Morocco

Goolkeeper of the Year: Chiamaka Nnadozie, Nigeria

Young Player of the Year: Nesryne El Chad, Morocco

Coach of the Year: Desiree Ellis, South Africa

National team of the year: Nigeria

Club of the Year: Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa

CAF established the awards in 1992 to provide a venue and opportunity for Africans to receive the respect they deserved in the world of football.

Related articles

Buganda Kingdom Coffee Project Receives over Ugx400 M Support from President Museveni

The Buganda Kingdom Coffee Project, known as Mwanyi Terimba, has received Ugx413 million from President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni...

Grandsons Rob, Hack Grandfather to Death in Lwengo

Police in Lwengo are investigating circumstances under which two grandchildren robbed and killed their grandfather with a machete. The...

Unpacking Uganda’s Diverse Culture: Exploring the Significance of Karamojong Facial Markings and Body Piercings

Uganda, a country nestled in the heart of Africa, is home to a rich and diverse cultural heritage....

Health Ministry to Reduce Non-Communicable Diseases through Physical Activity

The Ministry of Health has reported an increase in non-communicable diseases among the population. Which include cardiovascular diseases,...