EC sets Date for Bukedea District Chairperson and Councilors By-election


Share post:

The Electoral Commission released yesterday, May 4th 2023, the program for conducting the by-election of District Chairperson Bukedea and councilors in electoral areas in Bukedea District where vacancies exist.

According to Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon, the chairperson of the Electoral Commission, the by-election program will commence with an update of the National Voters’ Register from Monday, May 8th, to Friday, May 12th, 2023, at update stations in each of the one hundred and fifty-two (152) parishes and wards in Bukedea District.

“The Commission has appointed Friday, May 12, 2023, as the cut-off date for applying for registration as a voter and for transfer of voting location in the district. The registration and transfer of voters from one polling station to another within Bukedea District will not take place after Friday 12th May 2023,” the statement read.

Mugenyi said that the display of the voters’ register will be conducted for a period of ten (10) days, that is, from Wednesday 17th May to Friday 26th, 2023, at all the one hundred eighty (180) polling stations in Bukedea District.

The display of parish tribunal recommendations for deletion from or inclusion on the voter register will be conducted for six (6) days, that is, from Friday 26th to Wednesday 31st May 2023 at the respective Parish/Ward Headquarters.

However according to Mugenyi, the nomination of candidates will be conducted on Monday 5th and Tuesday 6th June, 2023 at the Office of the District Returning Officer, Bukedea.

He explained that the nominated candidates will conduct campaign meetings for six (6) days, that is, from Wednesday 7th to Monday 12th June 2023.

Mugenyi further explained that the polling of the District Female Workers Councillor and the Sub-County Male Youth Councillor representing Kocheka Sub-County will be conducted on 13th June 2023, by the electoral college.

“Polling and tallying of results for the by-election of the District Chairperson, Bukedea; the District Directly-elected Councillor for Bukedea Sub County; the Sub County Woman Councillor for Mukongoro Sub County; and the Sub County Directly-elected Councillor for Kotiokot Sub County, will be conducted on Wednesday 14th June 2023, at all polling stations in the affected electoral areas,” the statement read.

The District Chairperson seat for Bukedea District fell vacant following the death of the former Chairperson, Moses Olemukan, on 17th December 2022, while the other Local Government vacancies occurred due to the resignation of the elected Councillors.

Related articles

Health Ministry to Refocus Efforts to Combat Devastating Impact of Teenage Pregnancies

The Ministry of Health has announced its renewed commitment to combating the alarming rise in teenage pregnancies that...

Uganda Medical Association Presses for Law on Internship and Doctor Recruitment in Local Governments

The Uganda Medical Association (UMA) is urging the government to pass a law aimed at improving internship opportunities...

Pedestrians Most Vulnerable to Deadly Road Accidents, Warns Traffic Directorate

Uganda Police's Directorate of Traffic Road and Safety has indicated that pedestrians are the most vulnerable to deadly...

FUFA, CAF Collaborate to Streamline Club Licensing with Online Platform

The Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) in collaboration with the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has organized...