24.7 C
Sunday, October 2, 2022

NRM approves all current EALA members for another term

The Central Executive Committee-CEC of the ruling National Resistance Movement has approved all the current EALA representatives for another term.

On Friday, CEC held its 10th meeting that was chaired by party chairman Yoweri Museveni in Entebbe and passed the resolution.

During the meeting, the party approved the following members including Rose Akol Okullu, James Kakooza, Mary Mugyenyi, Paul Mwasa, Dennis Namara, and George Stephen Odongo.

Previously, a total of 130 members had expressed interest in the position of members of EALA on NRM ticket.

Richard Todwong, the NRM SG said party opted to maintained the incumbent six members adding that a total of 63 candidates who had expressed interest withdrew their decision.

 “Hereby recommends that the incumbent EALA members be maintained, in recognition of their exceptional performance to continue their tenure for another term as members of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA),” reads in part Todwong’s statement.

The six incumbents, according to Todwong, have been endorsed to the Parliamentary Caucus for further consideration.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

error: Content is protected !!