18.7 C
Saturday, October 1, 2022

Nominations for EALA Representatives Ongoing at Parliament

The Parliament of Uganda is conducting nomination today for individuals interested in seats in the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

According to the Clerk to Parliament Adolf Mwesige Kasaija, nominations are being conducted today 19th September in the Parliament conference hall and each candidate is required to pay Shs3m.

He said that there are 9 slots for EALA and National Resistance Movement (NRM) which has the majority number of members’ takes 6 slots leaving a balance of 3, of which 2 slots are for opposition and 1 for independent candidates.

“NRM has already endorsed it’s members, and have maintained their current members for another term, these are Stephen George Odongo, Denis Namara, James Kakooza, Paul Musamali Mwasa, Rose Akol and Mary Mugyenyi,’’ Mwesige said.

He added that Democratic Party (DP) has nominated Gerald Siranda and Stella Kiyowa, Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) nominated Herold Kaija while the Uganda People’s congress (UPC) nominated Fred Ebil. The independent candidates include Jacqueline Amongi former NRM and Dr. Denis Kapyata.

The clerk continued to state that 17 candidates had already paid the ugx3m but some were still awaiting nomination.

Government has set September 29th as the election date for Ugandan representatives to EALA.

The two-day nomination exercise closes tomorrow.  

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

error: Content is protected !!