21.7 C
Saturday, October 1, 2022

18 Countries to participate in 2023 African Nations Championship

The Confédération of Africaine Football has confirmed a total of 18 countries as the participants in the forthcoming African Nations Championship-CHAN.

The championship is slated to be held in Algeria, January 2023.

The countries have been placed in zones such as North African, East and Central, Southern, Central African zone, Western zone A and B.

The North African zone is comprised of  Morocco, Libya, and Algeria. Uganda, Ethiopia and Sudan are in the East and Central zone, Madagascar, Angola and Mozambique are placed in the Southern zone.

The Central zone includes DR Congo, Congo and Cameroon while Senegal, Mauritania and Mali are placed in the Western A zone and Niger, Ghana, and Ivory Coast in B zone.

Madagascar will be competing for the first time in the tournament after defeating Botswana whereas Uganda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo have repeatedly attended the tournament.

According to CAF, Morocco who won the previous two successive competitions in 2018 and 2020, will be seeking to defend their third consecutive championship.

CAF has noted that this competition forbids participants from playing club football outside of the national leagues of their respective nations. The tournament is set to commence from January 8th   to 31st 2023.          

Steve Mungereza
Steve Mungereza
Sociopolitical Analyst. Coverage of National and Regional news stories.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

error: Content is protected !!